Day number one

I stepped off the plane to a climate much warmer than the one I’d left behind. Almost immediately I took off my sweatshirt. A good decision given that I’d spend the next 45 minutes pacing several terminals of the large GIG airport searching for an ATM that would accept my card.

Upon obtaining sufficient reais I left the airport and climbed onto a bus that would take me almost exactly to my hostel steps. But in the distance between I got a chance to see from afar some of Rio’s outter favelas. I was struck by the density of the structures, especially compared to the endless rolling green behind.

After showering, the next thing on my to do list was to get an acai. It was the perfect antidote to plane food. I wanted another immediately.

I spent the rest of the afternoon wandering. First, along Ipanema, then Copacabana, stopping by the Forte de Copacabana. Well worth it for the view. 

  
My ambles also took me to the Fundaçao Eva Klabin, a hidden gem of a mansion tucked away in the streets between the two famous beaches. Klabin, I was informed, was the daughter of a wealthy Brazilian industrial family in the 20th century. During her extensive travels throughout her life she had collected a spectacular amount of art, sculptures and the like. Five continents had contributed to her collection. The result was a wonderful array of beautiful paintings, elaborate pieces of furniture and shiny trinkets. They even had all her dresses on display. Peering into the large closet, I noticed that Eva, like any classy lady, had an impressive collection of shoes.

Leave a comment